Isle of Man Indoor Bowling Association Championships

The Isle of Man Indoor Bowling Championships will start on Monday the 14th January with the Singles Event which will continue throughout the week.

On the night a total of nine matches will take place with seven of these being in the men’s event and two in the ladies.

The first five matches which begin at 18-30 see some very close contests as David Quayle takes on Mike Skelly in a game which could go either way. Mike Moyer v Shaun Scott is difficult to tip but I fancy Mike should just edge this while Brian Lindsay v Jimmy Sansom should go to the more experienced Jimmy but Brian although he is new to the sport is steadily improving as the season progresses. James Teare as always will try his best but I think that he will find Tony Epifani too strong for him while Gary Lenton will have to be at his best to match Ben Dugdale and I fancy Ben to takes this one.

There are two more men’s games to follow at 20-00 and these are a couple of ‘crackers’ with Stuart Garrett taking on the in form Mark McGreal who is the current Champion and although many would tip Mark to take the win his opponent is not the type to give in easily and will fight to the last for the win. In the remaining men’s game we see the extremely experienced Clive McGreal take on Tony Dugdale and again although many may favour the experienced Clive we have seen in the past that Tony on his day is more than capable of beating anyone.

The remaining two games on Monday are Caroline Whitehead against Paula Garrett and although Caroline is a newcomer to Indoor Bowling she has shown on the Crown Green scene that she is a very capable bowler but I would expect the experience and calm consistency of Paula to take her through to the next round. The remaining ladies game between Bernice McGreal and Ann Hollingworth could well be a close battle but I think that Bernice should edge it.

Tuesday sees the men’s second round with Shaun Seal taking on Eddie Carlyle and the winner of the Quayle/Skelly game taking on Phil Smith. Dave McCabe will player the winner of the Moyer/Scott game while the winner of the Lindsay/Sansom game will play David Quirk. All these games are to start at 18-30 on Tuesday 15th.

The Singles Championship will continue through the week for both Ladies and Men with All Semi Finals being played on Friday 18th January.

The Pairs Championship will be starting on Monday 21st January and the Triples Championship on Monday 28th January.

Finally to all taking part, good luck and I hope that I have not inflicted you with the ‘commentators curse’ if I have tipped you.

2 thoughts on “Isle of Man Indoor Bowling Association Championships

  • 3rd January 2019 at 8:40 am

    Hi have we given out the number of ends and any rules ?

    • 8th January 2019 at 2:31 pm

      Hi David, we’re waiting to hear from Tony about the number of ends etc.

Comments are closed.